The First 5 Kern story.


First 5 Kern, also known as the Kern County Children’s and Families Commission, is lead by nine Commissioners (five of whom are appointed by the Kern County Board of Supervisors). Commissioners direct Proposition 10 (tobacco tax) funds, determine the focus of funding through community input and a strategic planning process and oversee the evaluation of service provider programs. Meetings are open to the public and subject to The Brown Act.





Lucinda Wasson, Chairperson
Retired Director of Nursing
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
Term ends 03.31.23

John Nilon, Vice Chairperson
Retired, Kern County Administrative Officer
Term ends 03.31.22

Brynn Carrigan, Treasurer
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
Term ends at end of Tenure

Jennie Sill (for Bill Walker, Director), Secretary
Children’s System of Care Administrator
County of Kern, Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
Term ends at end of Tenure

Supervisor Mike Maggard
County of Kern, Board of Supervisors – 2nd District
Term ends 12.31.21

Dena Murphy
County of Kern, Department of Human Services
Term ends at end of Tenure

Russell Judd
Chief Executive Officer
Kern Medical 
Term ends 03.31.22

Kelly Richers
Wasco Union Elementary School District
Term ends 03.31.23

Debbie Wood
Retired Coordinator of School Health for Bakersfield City School District 
Term ends 03.31.21


To review the by-laws of the Kern County Children and Families Commission (First 5 Kern), click here.