The First 5 Kern story.

Commission

First 5 Kern, also known as the Kern County Children’s and Families Commission, is lead by nine Commissioners (five of whom are appointed by the Kern County Board of Supervisors). Commissioners direct Proposition 10 (tobacco tax) funds, determine the focus of funding through community input and a strategic planning process and oversee the evaluation of service provider programs. Meetings are open to the public and subject to The Brown Act.

COMMISSION MEETING DOCUMENTATION

 

 

Commissioners

Lucinda Wasson, Chairperson
Retired Director of Nursing
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
lwasson2@gmail.com
Term ends 03.31.21

Dena Murphy, Vice Chairperson
Director
County of Kern, Department of Human Services
murphyd@kerndhs.com
Term ends at end of Tenure

Michelle Curioso, Treasurer
Director of Nursing / Maternal Child and Adolescent Health
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
curiosomi@kerncounty.com
Term ends at end of Tenure

Jennie Sill (for Bill Walker, Director), Secretary
Children’s System of Care Administrator
County of Kern, Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
jsill1@kernbhrs.org
Term ends at end of Tenure

Supervisor Mick Gleason
County of Kern, Board of Supervisors – 5th District
district1@kerncounty.com
Term ends 12.31.19

Susan Lerude
Retired Division Director
County of Kern, Juvenile Probation
sdlerude@gmail.com
Term ends 03.31.20

Kelly Richers
Superintendent
Wasco Union Elementary School District
sdlerude@gmail.com
Term ends 03.31.20

Al Sandrini
Retired School District Superintendent
asandrini1@bak.rr.com
Term ends 03.31.21

Debbie Wood
Retired Coordinator of School Health for Bakersfield City School District
debbiewood55@outlook.com 
Term ends 03.31.20