The First 5 Kern story.

Commission

First 5 Kern, also known as the Kern County Children’s and Families Commission, is lead by nine Commissioners (five of whom are appointed by the Kern County Board of Supervisors). Commissioners direct Proposition 10 (tobacco tax) funds, determine the focus of funding through community input and a strategic planning process and oversee the evaluation of service provider programs. Meetings are open to the public and subject to The Brown Act.

COMMISSION MEETING DOCUMENTATION

 

 

Commissioners

John Nilon, Chairperson
Retired, Kern County Administrative Officer
j.nilon@yahoo.com
Term ends 03.31.24

Russell Judd, Vice Chairperson
Retired Chief Executive Officer
Kern Medical
russell.judd@kernmedical.com 
Term ends 03.31.24

Brynn Carrigan, Treasurer
Director
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
carriganb@kerncounty.com
Term ends at end of Tenure

Jennie Sill (for Bill Walker, Director), Secretary
Mental Health Systems Administrator
County of Kern, Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
jsill1@kernbhrs.org
Term ends at end of Tenure

Supervisor David Couch
County of Kern, Board of Supervisors – 4th District
district4@kerncounty.com
Term ends 12.31.22

Lito Morillo
Director
County of Kern, Department of Human Services
morillol@kerndhs.com
Term ends at end of Tenure

Kelly Richers
Superintendent
Wasco Union Elementary School District
kerichers@wuesd.org
Term ends 03.31.23

Debbie Wood
Retired Coordinator of School Health for Bakersfield City School District
debbiewood55@outlook.com 
Term ends 03.31.23

Dr. Lisa Gilbert
Deputy Superintendent, Instructional Services
Kern County Superintendent of Schools
Term ends 03.31.23

 

To review the by-laws of the Kern County Children and Families Commission (First 5 Kern), click here.