The First 5 Kern story.

Commission

First 5 Kern, also known as the Kern County Children’s and Families Commission, is lead by nine Commissioners (five of whom are appointed by the Kern County Board of Supervisors). Commissioners direct Proposition 10 (tobacco tax) funds, determine the focus of funding through community input and a strategic planning process and oversee the evaluation of service provider programs. Meetings are open to the public and subject to The Brown Act.

COMMISSION MEETING DOCUMENTATION

 

 

Commissioners

Lucinda Wasson, Chairperson
Retired Director of Nursing
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
lwasson2@gmail.com
03.31.19

Rick Robles, Vice Chairperson
Retired School District Superintendent
ricrobles1953@gmail.com
03.31.19

Dena Murphy, Treasurer
Director
County of Kern, Department of Human Services
murphyd@kerndhs.com
End of Tenure

Jennie Sill (for Bill Walker, Director)
Children’s System of Care Administrator
County of Kern, Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
jsill1@kernbhrs.org
End of Tenure

Supervisor Leticia Perez
County of Kern, Board of Supervisors – 5th District
district5@kerncounty.com
12.31.18

Sam Aunai
Vice President-Office of Instruction
Porterville College
sam.aunai@portervillecollege.edu
03.31.19

Michelle Curioso
Director of Nursing / Maternal Child and Adolescent Health
County of Kern, Public Health Services Department
curiosomi@kerncounty.com
End of Tenure

Susan Lerude
Retired Division Director
County of Kern, Juvenile Probation
sdlerude@gmail.com
03.31.20

Al Sandrini
Retired School District Superintendent
asandrini1@bak.rr.com
03.31.20